> ABOUT ZHEJIANG > General Situation > Religions
General Situation
    Religions in Zhejiang
    Date:2020-08-06 10:11

    Zhejiang has five religions: Buddhism, Taoism, Islam, Catholicism and Christianity. Each religion has a long history and many believers. Buddhism and Taoism have been introduced into Zhejiang for more than 1,800 years, Islam, more than 1,400 years, Catholicism, more than 400 years, and Christianity, more than 150 years. Zhejiang has 13 national key temples for Buddhism. Mount Putuo is one of the four famous Buddhist mountains. Guoqing Temple of Tiantai Mountain is regarded as the ancestral court of Tiantai Sect by Japanese and Korean Buddhism, and Tiantong Temple in Ningbo is revered as the ancestral court of Caodong Sect by Japanese Buddhism. Of the Ten Taoist Caves three are located in Zhejiang. Hangzhou Phoenix Mosque is one of the four ancient Islamic mosques along the southeast coast of China. The province has a total of more than 1.8 million religious believers, more than 25,000 religious clerks, more than 10,000 religious venues, 225 provincial, municipal and county-level religious organizations, 6 religious schools, and 32 training centers.

    print close